True Acting Institute

Authenticity, Simplicity, Humanity

In addition to training actors and directors from every continent in the world, what makes us totally unique is our devoted focus on the training of Theater Educators.

Through our books by Larry Silverberg, our international summer Teacher Training Programs, our Visiting Masterclasses and with our unique Online Classes and Webinars, we are shifting the landscape of acting globally towards an organic and deeply human approach to the craft.


Our Director, Larry Silverberg

One of the world's foremost authorities on the Sanford Meisner technique of acting, Larry is the author of the acclaimed 4 volume series, The Sanford Meisner Approach and his books, Loving To Audition, The 7 Simple Truths of Acting for the Teen Actor, Meisner For Teens, True Acting Tips and Winning Your Acting Auditions.

An award winning actor/director, Larry is a graduate of the Neighborhood Playhouse School of Theatre where he studied with legendary acting teacher, Sanford Meisner. Since then, Larry has worked professionally as an actor and director across the United States and in Canada. Larry won the Seattle Critic’s Association "Stellar Acting Award" for his portrayal of "Teach" in the Belltown Theatre Center production of "American Buffalo." and his recent production of The Normal Heart won two "Best Play of the Year" Awards.

Want more feedback? Click

HERE, and HERE, and HERE

Larry has also been very busy working throughout Europe, Canada, South America and the US, teaching acting through his professional actors training program, "The Meisner Master Class" which he brings to universities, colleges and professional acting studios around the globe. In the summers, Larry is busy teaching at University of Richmond where he leads his Meisner Certificate Training Program for actors, directors and teachers. Larry is also Founder and Artistic Director of True Acting Institute Europe where he leads ongoing classes for actors and film directors at his school, The Brussels Playhouse in Belgium.

Here are just a few of the institutions that have sent their faculty to our teacher training program:

DePaul University (department head), Seton Hill, Lamar University, Willamette University (department head), Stonybrook University, University of Connecticut (department head), Southern Arkansas University, University of Oregon (department head), Gannon University, Indiana State University, Irvine Valley College, SUNY Fredonia, Illinois Wesleyan University, West Virginia University (department head), McLennan Community College, Kutztown University, Western Illinois University Macalester College, Cleveland State University, Faulkner University, Central Washington University (department head), Quachita Baptist University, Texas A&M University Commerce, Coastal Carolina University, Hendrix (department head), Chapman University, University of Tennessee Chattanooga (department head), Florida International University (head of performance), High Point University, University of North Dakota (director BFA program in performance), Olivet Nazarene University (program director), University of Saskatchewan, Virginia Commonwealth University, Carnegie Mellon University (head of program and staff), Chadron State College, Bowie State University, Fairmont State University, Metropolitan State University of Denver (BFA music theatre coordinator), University of Utah, Illinois College, Central Arizona College (head of program), Washington University in St. Louis, Wesleyan University, Hamilton College, University of Calgary, Shenandoah University (head of program and staff), Trinity Western University, University of Pittsburgh, University of Vermont, Columbus Sate University, Emerson College, Cornell College, University of Lethbridge, University of Richmond, Union College, Slippery Rock University, Drury University, Germantown Academy and others.

We also have ongoing relationships with acting departments and professors in Canada, Brazil, Romania, Austria, Belgium, Switzerland, Germany, Denmark, China, United Kingdom, Thailand, France, Bermuda, The Netherlands, Italy, Spain, Latvia, Luxembourg, Ireland, South Africa, Turkey, Norway and Greece.